Home > various and sundry > January Stone Mountain Hike

January Stone Mountain Hike

Time: 32:54 up, 28:46 down
Weather: 46°F, sunny

Somehow, I got it into my head that the Nerd and I should “totally hike up Stone Mountain once a month” and that it would be “a really fun thing to do” which I started regretting about two yards past the sign at the base of the walk up trail. I mean, it’s not really a New Year’s Resolution if I just randomly suggested it one day and then back out the next, right? Right?

I pretty much moped my way up the trail and triumphantly skipped my way down. It’s amazing how much of the out of breath panting you forget once you’ve gotten to the top.

Scenery...scenery as far as the eye can see...

Scenery…scenery as far as the eye can see…

But I’m told we’re committed now, so I guess I should practice on other hills this month so that February’s climb is less me clutching my chest and more I-got-this.

Edit: Oh, and I forgot to mention the acoustic guitar dude who was walking his way up as we were walking down. He was strumming his guitar and singing Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball.” Dude had to be in his late 40s, early 50s. A+, sir. A+.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

