Home > various and sundry > STFU, Friends

STFU, Friends

After reading this post on the STFU, Parents blog, I decided to perform my own social experiment to see how many of my friends I would “lose” on Facebook if I “liked” the STFU, Parents page. I figured the worst that could happen is a few people I didn’t particularly enjoy reading would unfriend me and that would be the end of it.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with STFU, Parents, it’s a blog dedicated to the oversharing parents (especially new parents) tend to do about their children. Blair, the author, isn’t really talking about people who post constant updates (even though those are annoying for a different reason, in my ever-so-humble opinion), but more the parents that fall into the deepest wells of I DID NOT NEED TO SEE THAT or, my favorite parent that I want to tell to shut up, the Sanctimommy: that breed of mother who has decided that you just do not understand anything because you haven’t had a kid.

It’s a pretty tongue-in-cheek blog and I would assume that if parents took the time to read past the caustic name, they’d see that most of what THEY post probably isn’t what Blair is talking about. They’d probably agree that no one really needs to see pictures of poop or how much parents have spent on their kids for Easter. Of course, I say that not being a parent (yet), so I’m fairly certain that my opinion on the matter is invalid (though I’m 99% sure I won’t be posting pictures of my hypothetical kid’s puke on Facebook).

But back to my social experiment: I “liked” the page and saw that I had been unfriended by two people. The first of which was what I expected–someone from high school who I rarely talk to and had already blocked her feed for posting things like entire photo albums of her kid learning to eat Cheerios. I stand by my rule of “One picture is cute; fifteen pictures is ridiculous.”

The second unfriending was one I didn’t expect. A new friend-of-a-friend who, I won’t lie, I was a little excited about getting to know. She’s not a parent and she didn’t strike me as someone without a sense of humor, so it was strange. Granted, she may have unfriended me for a completely different reason, but her boyfriend hasn’t, so I obviously haven’t violated some more that required them to discuss me.

Out of almost four hundred friends, those were the only casualties–and I have quite a few parents on my list. This made me start to wonder about people and how they monitor their social networks. Honestly, I couldn’t tell you the last page someone on my friends list “liked,” but here are at least two people who pay enough attention to their feeds to not only see that I had “liked” a page, but to get offended by it enough to unfriend me. Call me lazy, but I can’t bring myself to be glued that closely to Facebook.

It also made me wonder about knee-jerk reactions and why I don’t seem to have many of them, but that train of thought didn’t really get much farther than “I’m just not that kind of person.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

