Home > book reviews > Book Review: The Road

Book Review: The Road

Editor’s Note: This was originally published in January 2010 and I REGRET NOTHING.

I should probably turn in my English degree along with a piece of paper that reads, “I’m sorry. I didn’t like this book. Please forgive me,” and hope that the powers that be forgive my transgression.

Seriously, though, I’ve searched through the Internet and can’t seem to find one bad review of The Road…but I just couldn’t get into it. The first time I sat down to read it, I got halfway through and stopped reading. This time, I forced myself to not put it down until I finished it. I still wasn’t impressed. I want to be impressed. I want to like this book. I really do. I just…can’t.

It’s the story of an unnamed man and his son walking through a post-apocalyptic world, down a road, toward what they hope will be a better place.

I wish I had more to add to that summary, but…that’s about it. The whole book is the rising action, then it comes to a predictable climax towards the end which is followed by a small dénouement. Most of the reviews I’ve read have spoken of how moving and personal the book is, but I just…wasn’t interested in the man or the boy. I was actually more interested in the wife/mother.

Of course I’m interested in the character that’s dead before the book even begins.

That’s the book I’d actually like to read.

McCarthy, Cormac. The Road. New York: Vintage, 2006. Print. ISBN: 0307387895

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

